Foodservice Equipment Reports


More than 50 industry leaders were honored by the North American Association of Food Equipment Manufacturers during The NAFEM Show last week in Orlando, Fla.

John Nackley, CFSP, received the association’s highest honor, the 2011 William W. Carpenter Award, given to a foodservice industry professional who has continually contributed to NAFEM’s success and the enrichment of the foodservice industry. Nackley, president of InterMetro Industries Corp., joined the industry 26 years ago. He served on the NAFEM board for 15 years, and served a two-year term as NAFEM president beginning in 2000.

Nackley is recognized in the industry for his “intuitiveness and intellect,” said NAFEM Pres. Steve Follett, CFSP and president/CEO/chairman of Follett Corp. “When John Nackley’s name is mentioned in the industry,” he added, “there isn’t an industry organization allied to NAFEM that has not been touched personally by his skill and passion.”

The 2011 President’s Award went to Peter Nordell, president of The Edlund Co. The award recognizes a non-elected NAFEM volunteer who has donated his or her time and expertise for the betterment of the association. In addition to a number of ad hoc and committee assignments, Nordell served on the NAFEM board from 1997-2004.

NAFEM also awarded its Doctorate of Foodservice honor to 53 allied association leaders. The awards were presented during ceremonies Feb. 10 at the Orange County Convention Center.

The DFS program recognizes elected leaders of major foodservice industry associations for their commitment and dedication to their respective organizations and the industry at-large. This year’s group included Scott Hester of Commercial Food Equipment Service Association; Ian Hopper, FCSI,  Foodservice Consultants Society Int’l.;  John Cornyn, FCSI, and  Ed Norman, FCSI, of Foodservice Consultants Society Int’l.- The Americas; Stephen McGarry of Foodservice Equipment Distributors Association; John Hoskinson, CFSP, and Michael Turetzky, CFSP, of Manufacturers’' Agents Association for the Foodservice Industry; and Paul Angrick, CFSP, of NAFEM.

“NAFEM is pleased to recognize the accomplishments of this year's DFS honorees,” said Follett. “Their efforts and dedication to the betterment of the associations they represent, and the collective hospitality industry, is truly valued.”

Related Articles

NAFEM Honors Nackley, Nordell