Foodservice Equipment Reports


Nine industry professionals have been selected to receive the International Foodservice Manufacturers Association’s 2011 Silver Plate Awards. These annual awards recognize excellence in nine segments of foodservice operations. They honor winners for outstanding industry achievements, commitment to innovation, and contributions to the advancement of their segments and the foodservice industry as a whole.

The 2011 Silver Plate winners are:

• Independents: Buzz Beler, owner, The Prime Rib, Washington, D.C.

• Full-Service Chain: Jerry Deitchle, chairman/president/CEO, BJ’s Restaurants, Huntington Beach, Calif.

• Fast-Service Chain: Joe Tortorice, Jr., founder/CEO, Jason’s Deli Management, Beaumont, Texas

• Elementary/Secondary Schools: Lora Gilbert, MS, RD, FADA, SNS, sr. dir., Food & Nutrition Services, Orange County Public Schools, Orlando, Fla.

• Colleges & Universities: Dee Hardy, assoc. v.p. for Campus Services, University of Richmond, Richmond, Va.

• Specialty Foodservice: George L. Miller, chief, Air Force Food & Beverage Operations, U.S. Air Force, Lackland AFB, Texas

• Hotels & Lodging: C.W. Craig Reed, dir. of food and beverage, Broadmoor Hotel, Colorado Springs, Colo.

• Foodservice Management: Steve Sweeney, president & CEO, Chartwells, Rye Brook, N.Y.

• Healthcare: Bruce Thomas, assoc. v.p..-Guest Services, Geisinger Health Systems, Danville, Pa.

For the first time this year, a pre-screening jury of past Gold and Silver Plate winners provided peer review. The final winners were selected by a jury which included last year’s winners and trade press editors. A secret ballot was cast to select one Gold Plate winner from among the honorees. The winner will be announced May 23 at the 57th annual Gold & Silver Plate Awards Celebration in Chicago.

Related Articles

IFMA Announces Silver Plate Winners

IFMA Announces Eight Silver Plate Winners

IFMA Announces 2016 Silver Plate Winners

Related Events

06 Aug

IFMA Marketing & Sales Leaders Forum