Foodservice Equipment Reports

IFMA Presents Gold Plate Award To Independent/Multi-Concept Operator

John C. Metz Jr., CEO/executive chef and co-founder of Atlanta-based Sterling Hospitality, was named the Gold Plate Award winner by the International Foodservice Manufacturers Association on May 20. Metz, nominated by The Coca-Cola Co. and Ecolab, was one of eight operator executives who were eligible for the award after receiving the IFMA Silver Plate award in February. He represents the Independent Restaurants/Multi-Concept segment and joins previous winners from this category, including Dave Thomas of Wendy’s (1979) and Steve Ells of Chipotle (’03).

“I'm proud to accept this recognition on behalf of the 859 employees in our company in Florida and Georgia. They are spectacular people and they are unbelievable resources," said Metz. He is the second in his family to receive a Silver Plate award. His father, John C. Metz Sr., received the award in 1979 in the Foodservice Management category.

Now in its 59th year, IFMA's Gold & Silver Plate Awards pay tribute to leading foodservice operators who have contributed to the advancement of their individual segments and the foodservice industry as a whole.

The 2013 Silver Plate recipients include: Jay Silverstein (Business & Industry/Foodservice Management), Harald Herrmann (Chain Full Service/Multi-Concept), Don Fox (Chain Limited Service), Ken Toong (Colleges & Universities), Julia Bauscher (Elementary & Secondary Schools), Angelo Mojica (Health Care) and Jim Purdum (Hotels & Lodging).

Related Articles

IFMA Presents Silver Plate Winners

Seven Are Honored With IFMA’s Silver Plate Awards

IFMA Unveils Silver Plate Award Winners