Foodservice Equipment Reports

AHF Honors Cate And Parker At Annual Conference

The Association for Healthcare Foodservice bestowed its highest honors on past-president Denisa Cate and long-time Industry Advisory Board member and committee activist Cindy Parker June 8 at the awards banquet that concluded the group’s annual conference. The meeting was held June 5-8 at the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel.

Cate, director of food and nutrition services at the Henry County (Tenn.) Medical Center, received AHF’s Lifetime Achievement Award. She served as AHF’s president in 2010-11 and was a key part of the leadership team that merged AHF’s legacy associations, the National Society for Healthcare Foodservice Management (HFM) and the American Society of Healthcare Food Service Administrators (ASHFSA). She has been an extremely active member, serving on numerous committees and the AHF board of directors, in addition to her service in the officer ranks.

Parker, national accounts manager for Basic American Foods, was presented with the association’s top business partner award, the Making a Difference Award, named for the late John Cabot, a longtime supporter of healthcare foodservice as a healthcare specialist for what is now U.S. Foods. Parker has been highly involved with AHF and both legacy associations. In addition to sitting on AHF’s IAB and serving on several committees, she will co-chair next year’s AHF Annual Conference.

Five other awards were given as well. Among the honorees:

Dan Henroid, director of nutrition and food services-UCSF Medical Center, and Angelo Mojica, director of food and nutrition services-UNC Hospitals (Chapel Hill), were honored with the AHF Spotlight Award, which honors members who have enhanced operations through technology program development, implementation, innovation and/or creative use of managing finances.

Eric Eisenberg, executive chef and retail operations manager-Swedish Health Services (Seattle), and Petty Perez, NYU Langone Medical Center, each won the  Exemplary Leadership Award.

The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center Team received the Partnership in Leadership Award. Team honorees include Julie Jones, director of nutrition services; Mary Angela Miller, administrative director; Kent Hess, associate executive director; and Randy Allen, CFO.

Future Horizons: Aatul Jain, Saint Clare's Health System, Denville, N.J.

Presidential Special Service: Dexter Hancock, Scott Saklad, Andrew Shakman

More details on the conference and award winners can be found here. AHF announced that next year’s annual conference will be held June 3-6 in Orlando at the Rosen Shingles Hill Resort.

Related Articles

Registration Kicks Off For Annual AHF Conference

Coronavirus Updates

Coronavirus Updates