Foodservice Equipment Reports

NAFEM Honors Steve Cobb, David Ek With Top Awards

NAFEM 2013 in Orlando, Fla., included a slew of awards and special recognition for more than four dozen industry professionals. Industry veterans Steven Cobb and David Ek received NAFEM’s highest honors.

Steve Cobb, CFSP, chairman/CEO of Henny Penny Corp., Eaton, Ohio, was given the 2013 William W. Carpenter Award, which honors an industry professional who has continually contributed to NAFEM's success and to the enrichment of the industry at-large.

NAFEM Pres. Tom Campion, CFSP, president-Franke Foodservice Systems, presented the award and commented on Cobb’s continual leadership role in the industry.  “His many contributions to NAFEM and his commitment to the end-user customer have provided direction and inspiration to all of us over the years.”

Cobb has been active in the E&S industry since joining Henny Penny 25 years ago.  He served as NAFEM Show chair in 1999 and was the organization's president in 2004-5. Cobb handled oversight of the business plan and financial model created when NAFEM became a self-operating organization, and was instrumental in re-tooling the organization's strategic planning process.

David Ek received NAFEM’s 2013 President’s Award, which recognizes a nonelected NAFEM volunteer who has donated time and expertise to better the association.

Campion called Ek a mentor and friend to himself and to countless others in the industry. He added, “Dave has worn many NAFEM hats and contributed to a wide spectrum of programs and projects during his time as a member and volunteer.”

Among the variety of roles Ek has held with NAFEM are committee participant, board member, secretary, treasurer and vice president. He served as NAFEM president in 1992, and as NAFEM Show chair in 1995.

NAFEM also honored 50 allied association leaders with a Doctorate of Foodservice award during ceremonies held Feb. 7 at The NAFEM Show. The DFS program recognizes elected leaders of major foodservice industry associations for their commitment and dedication to their respective organizations and the industry at-large.  A complete list of honorees, which included FEDA’s Brad Wasserstrom, can be found here at NAFEM’s website.

Related Articles

NAFEM Honors Three Industry Veterans With Top Awards


The FER Industry Excellence Awards: Your Ticket To Honor Others (And Do Some Networking)

Related Events

19 May

FER Industry Excellence Awards Gala

Chicago , IL