Foodservice Equipment Reports

NSF Awards 2010 Food Safety Honors

Six individuals and organizations have been honored with NSF Int’l.’s 2010 Food Safety Leadership Awards. The winners:

Innovation in Training: California Strawberry Commission Food Safety Team, for developing commodity-specific, food-safety guidelines, an industry-wide risk assessment for the state’s production chain, and “Food Safety Practices for Strawberry Harvest Workers.”

Innovation in Equipment Design: FoodSafe Team, Intralox, for increasing sanitation efficiency and creating the industry standard in food processing technology solutions for food manufacturing and processing applications where sanitation is a critical component.

Innovation in System Improvement: Royal Commission for Jubail and Yanbu in Saudi Arabia, for spurring an increase in public-health and food-safety awareness by implementing a HACCP food-safety management system and establishing the country’s first food-handler training institute.

Innovation in System Improvement: Southern Nevada Health District, for dropping the region’s Hepatitis A incidences from 4,500 in 1997 to only 10 in ’09  by immunizing children and food handlers.

Innovation in Education: William Marler,  Marler Clark LLP, founder of informational blogs and websites educating the public about foodborne pathogens, and Outbreak Inc., which trains companies on preventing foodborne illness.

Innovation in Education: Dr. Catherine H. Strohbehn, Iowa State University, for educational outreach efforts on food safety, systems and human resources, including the SafeFood interactive, online food-safety lesson program.

An independent panel of food-safety experts from academia, industry and the regulatory community selected the winners, who were honored at the 2010 Food Safety Summit in Washington, D.C. on April 14.

Related Articles

NSF Honors Food Safety Leadership Award Winners

Coronavirus Updates

Coronavirus Updates