Foodservice Equipment Reports

NACUFS Renames Lifetime Award To Honor Longtime Member

The National Association of College and University Food Services has renamed its Distinguished Lifetime Member Award to honor longtime member and volunteer David Prentkowski, director of foodservice at the University of Notre Dame.

The award, now known as the David R. Prentkowski Distinguished Lifetime Member Award, will be presented by NACUFS at this week’s national conference. The award, created in 1990, honors retired members who have supported the betterment of college and university foodservice and the association.

“Dave’s leadership, guidance and tireless efforts to advance the mission of NACUFS have been instrumental in shaping the association,” says Nona Golledge, NACUFS president and director of dining at the University of Kansas. “He truly embodies the spirit of this great organization, and the board of directors is enthusiastic about recognizing his legacy in this way.”

Prentkowski has been active with NACUFS for more than three decades and served as president in 1996-97. He received the Richard Lichtenfelt Award in 2001 and was recognized with NACUFS’ top honor, the Theodore W. Minah Distinguished Service Award, in `06. Before joining Notre Dame in 1990, Prentkowski held positions in collegiate foodservice at the University of Utah, Purdue University and the University of Michigan.

Related Articles

Longtime FEDA Members Honored

AHF Presents Making A Difference, Lifetime Achievement Honors

NACUFS Conference Gets High Marks, Honors Operations