Foodservice Equipment Reports

Healthcare Foodservice Award Winners Announced

The Association for Healthcare Foodservice has named six winners of its four annual awards, which honor association-nominated individuals who have shown great leadership and achievement in the healthcare foodservice industry. In addition to the recipients below, AHF will be announcing winners for three additional awards—the Lifetime Achievement Award, the Making a Difference Award and the Presidential Special Service Award—at its annual conference June 3-6 in Orlando, Fla.

The 2014 AHF awards and their winners include:

Exemplary Leadership Award, recognizing a member who best reflects operational excellence and/or contributions to regional, local chapters or networking meetings:

  • Joyce Hagen-Flint, div. director-food and nutrition services, HCA West Florida, Largo, Fla.

Future Horizons Award, recognizing members who have practiced in the healthcare foodservice industry for five years or less, are new to management and demonstrate a desire for future growth through contributions to their hospitals or community:

  • Nicholas Mercogliano, sous chef, Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital, New Brunswick, N.J. 

Partnership in Leadership Award, recognizing member facilities that demonstrate a strong commitment to self-operation and which support the foodservice department leader:

  • Martha Rardin, director-nutrition and dietetics, Hendricks Regional Health, Indianapolis
  • Thomas Thaman, director-food and nutrition, Eskenazi Health, Indianapolis

Spotlight Award, recognizing operator members who have enhanced operations through technology, program development, implementation, innovation and /or creative use of financial management:

  • Crystal McVey, clinical nutrition manager, Huntsville Hospital, Huntsville, Ala.
  • Lisa Poggas, nutrition services director, and Daniel Skay, nutrition manager and executive chef, Castle Rock Adventist Hospitals, Castle Rock, Colo. 

AHF, headquartered in Louisville, is dedicated to advancing self-operated healthcare foodservice as industry best practice.

Related Articles

AHF Announces 2016 Award Winners

Coronavirus Updates

Coronavirus Updates