Foodservice Equipment Reports

NAFEM Recognizes Jaffee, Angrick And 50 Doctorate Honorees

Two former NAFEM presidents, each boasting a career spanning more than 30 years in the E&S industry, were honored by the association with its top awards during The NAFEM Show in February.

Keith Jaffee, CFSP, President of Chicago-based O2COOL, received NAFEM’s highest honor, the William W. Carpenter Award. The award is given to a foodservice industry professional who has continually contributed to NAFEM’s success as well as the enrichment of the industry for more than 20 years. Jaffee has served on and chaired NAFEM committees, and held board positions, including treasurer. He was NAFEM president in 1998-99, some 23 years after his father, Robert Jaffee, held the same office. In presenting the award, NAFEM President Michael Whiteley, CFSP, said, “As NAFEM treasurer, Keith encouraged the board to sensibly invest in NAFEM’s future to preserve its long-term financial health. An investment policy statement was created with an advisor put in place to provide day-to-day counsel. And Keith’s commitment to service didn’t just sit with NAFEM. He’s been engaged in a variety of industry associations, engaging in collaborative efforts around education and training and encouraging others to give back to the industry he so dearly loves.”

Paul Angrick, CFSP, Executive V.P.-Business Development at The Middleby Corp. in Elgin, Ill., was honored with NAFEM’s 2015 President’s Award. The award recognizes a non-elected NAFEM volunteer who has donated his or her time and expertise for the betterment of the association. Angrick has served as a committee member, committee chair and board member; in 2006, he joined the officer ranks, serving as secretary/treasurer and president-elect before being named president in 2008. In presenting the award, Whiteley remarked that “even though the heavy-lifting stage of Paul Angrick’s NAFEM career is over, he’s been instrumental in mentoring many past and current board members, myself included, demonstrating his unparalleled interest in continuing to move the association ever-forward. It’s a testimonial to his own learning journey and to his leadership.”

NAFEM also presented its Doctorate of Foodservice Awards to allied hospitality association presidents, past-presidents and chairs in recognition of their contributions to the industry. The 50 recipients were:

  • Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics: Sonja Connor, Glenna McCollum
  • American Culinary Foundation: Thomas Macrina
  • American Hotel & Lodging Association: John Fitzpatrick, Ronald Vlasic
  • Association for Healthcare Foodservice: Lisette Coston, Laura Watson
  • Association of Correctional Food Service Affiliates: Robin Sherman, Philip Atkinson
  • Association of Nutrition & Foodservice Professionals: Kathryn Massey, Paula Bradley
  • California Restaurant Association: Bruce Dean, Kevin McCarney
  • Catering Equipment Suppliers’ Association: Simon Frost
  • Commercial Food Equipment Service Association: Paul Toukatly
  • Council of Hotel and Restaurant Trainers: Patrick Yearout, Calvin Banks Jr.
  • Foodservice Consultants Society Int’l.: Jonathan Doughty (Worldwide)
  • FCSI – The Americas: William Taunton (The Americas)
  • Foodservice Equipment Distributors Association: Brad Pierce
  • Int’l. Association of Culinary Professionals: Raghavan Iyer, Julia Usher
  • Int’l. Council on Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Education: Martin O’Neill, Dennis Reynolds
  • Int’l. Flight Services Association: Pam Suder-Smith
  • Int’l. Food Service Executives Association: David Orosz
  • Int’l. Foodservice Manufacturers Association: Loren Kimura, Kent Walrack
  • Manufacturers’ Agents Association for the Foodservice Industry: Joseph Ferri, Mike McGuire
  • National Association for Catering and Events: Linwood Campbell
  • National Association of College & University Food Services: Zia Ahmed, Mark LoParco
  • National Association of Concessionaires: Jeff Scudillo
  • National Association of Food Equipment Suppliers: Michael Goldstein
  • National Council of Chain Restaurants: Mary Schell
  • National Restaurant Association: Marshall “Ken” Conrad, Phil Hickey
  • National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation: Michael Gibbons, Denise Marie Fugo
  • North American Association of Food Equipment Manufacturers: Thomas Campion
  • Research & Development Associates for Military Food & Packaging Systems: Tim Zimmerman
  • Retail Bakers of America: Marlene Goetzeler
  • School Nutrition Association: Julia Bauscher, Leah Schmidt
  • Singapore Association of Food Equipment Manufacturers & Suppliers: Benjamin Lim
  • Society for Hospitality and Foodservice Management: Anthony Kaszuba, Sabrina Capannola
  • Women’s Foodservice Forum: Susan Gambardella, Laurie Burns

Related Articles

Schwindt, Geile, Fink, Caruso, Greene Among 41 Doctorate Honorees

NAFEM Honors Nackley, Nordell